Three candidates vie for two seats on South Suburban's Board of Directors

Mar 05 2020

Three candidates are vying for two seats on the board of directors for South Suburban Park and Recreation District. The polling place election will be held on Tuesday, May 5, 2020. The candidates submitted self-nomination and acceptance forms for inclusion on the ballot. 

The order of names appearing on the ballot were selected by a lottery drawing on Tuesday, March 3 at the South Suburban Administration Building (6631 South University Blvd.). For information about the candidates, visit ssprd.org/board-election.

The ballot order is as follows:

  • Michelle Cuellar
  • James (Jim) Taylor
  • Ken Lucas

The five-member board of directors is elected at large on a non-partisan basis. Two board positions will be filled for three-year terms each. Regular elections occur in May of even-numbered years. Beginning May 2023, all District regular elections will be held every two years.

The board of directors meets on the second and fourth Wednesday evenings of each month at Goodson Recreation Center. Additional study sessions or special meetings are called as needed.

The election will be a polling place election, with the option of obtaining an absentee ballot. This is a District regular election and will feature only the election of board of director’s candidates.

The polling location is Goodson Recreation Center, 6315 South University Boulevard. The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

To request an absentee ballot, click here.

For questions about voter eligibility, send an email to elections@ssprd.org or call 303-483-7011. For election information visit ssprd.org/board-election.

Current board members are Scott LaBrash, Jim Taylor, Susan Pye, Pete Barrett and Dave Lawful. Scott LaBrash cannot seek re-election due to term limits, while Jim Taylor is seeking re-election for a second term.