News & Events

Nine candidates vie for three seats on South Suburban's Board of Directors

Mar 16 2018

Nine candidates are vying for three seats on the board of directors for South Suburban Park and Recreation District. The District-wide polling place election will be held Tuesday, May 8, 2018. The candidates submitted self-nomination and acceptance forms for inclusion on the ballot. 

The order of names appearing on the ballot were picked by a lottery drawing on Wednesday, March 7 at the South Suburban Administration Building (6631 South University Blvd.). 

The ballot order is as follows:

1. Susan Pye

2. Michael G. Kohut

3. Jeff Monroe

4. Dave Lawful                

5. Jerry Bakke

6. Dan Purse

7. Tom Wood

8. Charlie Blosten

9. Pete Barrett

The five-member board of directors is elected at large to four-year terms, on a non-partisan basis. The board of directors meets on the second and fourth Wednesday evenings of each month at Goodson Recreation Center. Additional study sessions or special meetings are called as needed.

The election will be a polling place election, with the option of obtaining an absentee ballot. This is a District regular election and will feature only the election of board of directors candidates.

Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Locations include:

Buck Recreation Center (2004 W. Powers Ave.)

Goodson Recreation Center (6315 S. University Blvd.)

The Lone Tree Hub (8827 Lone Tree Pkwy.)

South Suburban Golf Course (7900 S. Colorado Blvd.)

To request an absentee ballot, click here.

For questions about voter eligibility, send an email to or call 303-483-7011.

Current board members are John Ostermiller, Pam Eller, Mike Anderson, Scott LaBrash and Jim Taylor. Ostermiller, Eller, and Anderson cannot seek re-election due to term limits, while LaBrash will reach his term limit in May 2020. Taylor is eligible for re-election in May 2020.